KayKay #CRB6 Review #41 Rogues by Various


I normally don’t read anthologies, but who can pass up a new short story by Patrick Rothfuss?  And it would give me the ability to try out authors that I haven’t read.    I give this book 3 stars.

Here’s a breakdown…

**SPOILER ALERT**

My book reviews are written as a discussion of a book, and not as an advertisement.  Please be aware that there may be information that some would consider spoilers.  Continue on at your own risk!

What is this book about?

I am going to admit that I did not read all of the stories, and I am not going to review all the stories that I did read.

Tough Time Over All by Joe Abercrombie

– This is my first real experience with Joe Abercrombie.  I did purchase Best Served Cold, but I wasn’t able to get into the book.  This short story was really well done- as it was about an artifact (which is never exposed) being stolen by several groups.  Each time a new person took the artifact, the story changed to their perspective.  Since I haven’t read any of Abercrombie’s other stories, everyone was unfamiliar to me, but it was a well built world.  After this short story, I will finish one of his books.

What Do You Do by Gillian Flynn

-This is also my first Gillian Flynn story.  This was a creepy (and hopefully highly unlikely) mystery.  A former prostitute (this may be too strong a term, as she just gave hand jobs) turned psychic gets hired by a clients wife (this relationship is unknown to her- and him) to help her rid her home of evil.  The wife’s son seems evil- perhaps a cause of the house, but at the end we don’t know if it is the wife or the son that is really crazy (perhaps both).  She ends up taking the son to a convention he wants to attend and she’s decided he may be helpful in her scams.  I enjoyed the writing but the mystery got to twisty for me to really think about.

How the Marquis Got His Coat Back by Neil Gaiman

-I loved this story.  I did read Neverwhere, but I had not remembered the character of the Marquis.  After this I did wish to know all of his background and where he is going to go!

The Lightning Tree by Pat Rothfuss

-Ahhh…the reason I bought this book.  I loved this story about Bast.  I wish it would have told more of his back story, because I’m curious about how he got with Kvothe.  However, the insight into the character was fantastic.  I can’t wait until the next book in the series.

Final Thoughts?

I enjoyed all the short stories that I read.

Leave a Reply

