KayKay #CRB6 Review #29 Nice Dragons Finish Last by Rachel Aaron

th (3)

I’m a big fan of Rachel Aaron’s Eli Monpress series.  I enjoyed her Paradox series, and so far (for me) this Heartstricker series falls in the middle.  I think this series is YA, at least the main character is a kid (only 20 something in dragon years), but it made no difference.  It was different, it was fun and I enjoyed seeing Julius (the main character) come into his own.  The best part is that Rachel Aaron writes really fast and the next book in the series is coming out later this year!  I give this book 4 stars.

Here’s a breakdown…

**SPOILER ALERT**

My book reviews are written as a discussion of a book, and not as an advertisement.  Please be aware that there may be information that some would consider spoilers.  Continue on at your own risk!

What is this book about?

This takes place in a future version of our world, where magic has been returned.  There are dragons and various types of magicians.  The main character- Julius is a dragon- the smallest in his family (the Heartstrickers), and a huge disappointment to his family.  He’s not mean, vicious, he doesn’t think of using humans or have a driving need to rule the world.  This causes his mother to throw him out and block his ability to change into his dragon form.  Stuck as a human, he has to prove that he is a worthy dragon.

His brother, Ian, has a mission for him, recover Katya, one of the Three Sisters dragons.  Along his journey his picks up a human mage- Marci.  With some timely interference from his brother Bob (one of three dragon seers), Julius is able to figure a way to stay true to himself, and prove his worth to his family- although not enough that his mother releases his block.

What did I think about this book?

I really enjoyed it.  It’s easy to read, I enjoyed the characters (especially Julius, Marci and Bob), I think it has a good message (it’s OK to be yourself).

Favorite Lines?

“I don’t think my failure to cross the ‘petty crimes against innocent people because your brother is too cheap to give you an advance so you can do your job’ line qualifies as a summation of my existence”

Final Thoughts?

I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

