KayKay #CRB6 Review #18 Heaven’s Queen by Rachel Bach

Heavens Queen

It seems I was just saying it’s hard to find a good sci fi/ fantasy book with a female lead and here I found two in a row.  Heaven’s Queen is the third (and final) book in the Paradox Series.  Since this is the third book, it’s hard to say much without spoiling the series, so, in general, I’d just say this was a good series with a satisfying (but predictable) ending.  I’ve probably said too much…  I am going to give this book 3 stars.

Here’s a breakdown…

**SPOILER ALERT**

My book reviews are written as a discussion of a book, and not as an advertisement.  Please be aware that there may be information that some would consider spoilers.  Continue on at your own risk!

What is this book about?

Devi and Rupert are on the run from the Eyes and from law enforcement, with no allies.  Devi has a virus that could either kill her or save the universe.  She wants to save the universe (of course).  She starts to think the phantoms are trying to communicate with her- at this point, the theme started to remind me of the Enders Game series by Orson Scott Card.  That series raised the issue of assuming intent without proper communication.  One of the phantoms does end up sacrificing itself to communicate with Devi.  At that point she learns that though the phantoms were destroying entire inhabited planets, they ended up just being starving creatures looking for plasmex to eat.  They couldn’t get back to their universe because Maat was blocking the portal (to keep additional phantoms out, they were also trapped inside) Devi had to fight / out wit the Eyes to get to Maat.  The entire story was wrapped up with a nice bow, as Devi was able to save herself by giving the virus to Maat, who wanted to die.  She was able to do it in such a way that the daughters who were linked to Maat did not die.  This opened the portal up so that the phantoms could go home.  And the icing on top was that Devi meet the Scared King and was knighted and got to live happily ever after with Rupert.

What did I think about this book?

I enjoyed it.  It was fast paced, great characters.  The ending was a bit too perfect, but I can’t complain too much about that.

I will say that Devi’s suit of armor (The Lady Gray) and her two weapons were like additional characters.  Normally when I read a book I am not thinking about what the characters are wearing, but in this book, it was noticeable when Devi didn’t have her armor on.  I was nervous at her vulnerability without it.  I’m a huge fan of the author’s Eli Monpress series (written under the name Rachel Aaron) and she has a great way of bringing characters- and objects to life.

Favorite Lines?

“I itched to point out that Rupert had stopped my kill, which meant the blood would have been on my conscience, and, unlike him, I had absolutely no problem with that.”

Final Thoughts?

I prefer the Eli Monpress series, but I love the creativity in this series.  I can’t wait to read her next series.

 

Leave a Reply

