KayKay #CBR6 Review #06 The Wretched of Muirwood by Jeff Wheeler

TheWretchedofMuirwood 

First off, I just realized my titles have been labeled CRB instead of CBR (duh!) I am definitely to lazy to go back and change the past ones.  But I will try to be more cautious in my proofreading.

Now, down to business.  I’m not sure what prompted me to pick up this book, Amazon kept recommending it to me, the premise sounded decent and I easily read through the sample.  Since the book was only 2.99 I went ahead and bought it (I’ve wasted more on worse books).  I was not disappointed.  I can say that I finished it in a day (not necessarily because it was so fantastic, but I had a lot of reading time on my hands), but it did keep me interested.  I will probably be reading the next one.  I am going to give this book 3 stars.

Here’s a breakdown…

**SPOILER ALERT**

My book reviews are written as a discussion of a book, and not as an advertisement.  Please be aware that there may be information that some would consider spoilers.  Continue on at your own risk!

Plot

Lia, left on the doorstep of an abbey, is a ‘wretched’, she has no family, but is taken in by the abbey to work.  She and one other girl is raised by the cook.  It’s hard work, but she is warm and cared for.  Her biggest complaint is that she is unable to learn to read.  She ends up risking everything to help a rebellion against the evil king.  She has control of a magic force (The Medium) and secretly saves the day.

Plot Score: 3/5 

Characters

Lia- She is a head strong main character who makes her own choices and believes she is smart enough to either avoid getting caught or that she can weather the punishment.  She has unprecedented control of The Medium, which is a magical force that allows her to control fire, read people’s minds, move mountains, etc. etc.

Colvin- a maston (the people who learn how to control The Medium) who Lia helps join the rebellion against the evil king.  This guy was rude 90% of the book.  Eventually he warms up to Lia, but it’s almost an unnatural transition.  (One day he barely tolerates her, the next day he trusts her…)

Characters Score: 3/5

World Building

The concept of The Medium is what bothered me the most.  I kept thinking this is probably some analogy for Jesus (and I see the author is a leader in his church).  There was a theme that you needed to ‘trust’ The Medium, that it will take care of you, if you just have faith, blah blah blah.  As an atheist I didn’t want the book to go into that ‘trust in the unseen’ realm, and to be honest, it did that a little too much.  Not enough to stop me from reading the next book, but I got an eye out in case it gets too ‘preachy’.

World Building Score: 2/5

Style

There were sections that I thought were a bit YA.  Sometimes when books are YA, I feel like a sense of depth is missing, and that was a problem in this book.  I thought there was lacking in the complexity of the characters and the characters growth was abrupt.

I normally highlight parts of the book that I think are clever and interesting, but I had nothing highlighted in this book.

Style Score : 3/5

Life Lessons (fka Bigger Meaning)

None

Life Lessons Score:  0/5 

Final Thoughts?

-I’d like to know who Lia’s parents are…and why the heck can’t she learn to read!

Total Score and Recommendation

11/25- If you need a easy to read filler book, this was an enjoyable story.

Leave a Reply

