KayKay #CRB5 Review #55 Why we get fat: and what to do about it by Gary Taubes

WhyWeGetFat

After reading Lollygagger’s review of Gary Taubes Good Calories, Bad Calories, I decided to read his newer book.  Last year I did the Dukan Diet, which is a carb restricted diet and I lost 30 lbs, but gained it back this year when I went back to my carbs (I have a deep love for Jeni’s ice cream).  This book is a tedious read, as it’s 99% Why we get fat and 1% what to do about it (I guess I should have known that judging by the size of the font on the cover)  It reads like a dissertation page with random and various facts put together to prove his point.  However, based on my experience last year, I found that a lot of his conclusions rang true:

Usually the strenuous physical exercise slows the rate of [weight] loss – While doing Dukan, I weighed myself daily, and I noticed on days I exercised, I actually gained.  Taubes’ explanation is that exercising makes you hungry, so the amount of extra food you eat after working out, negates the few calories that you burn while working out.

You lose fat because you cut out the foods that make you fat- the carbohydrates- I’ve tried several diets (Weight Watchers, exercise alone, organics, etc. etc.) and the Dukan Diet (carbohydrate restricted) and I did lose weight with that diet.  I actually felt my body stop craving the carbs.  I actually felt better not eating carbs.  (Obviously not as good as I fell eating Jeni’s Ice Cream)

Sugar and high-fructose corn syrup are addictive in the same way that drugs are- I have a deep love for sugar and when I stop eating it, I have withdraw symptoms, but if I stay off for a while, I do feel free of it.  BUT, as soon as I have even a little bit, I’m right back on it…AHHH!! I know we will one day find that sugar is our generations cigarettes.  I need a sugar patch.

Entire point of the book

  • We don’t get fat because we overeat, we overeat because we are fat.  (The importance here is that we have to treat the reason we get fat, and not the results of becoming fat)

Still a problem…even though I agree with Taubes explanation and reasoning, but it is hard to stick to a carbohydrate restrictive diet when so much of our food is laden with carbs.  There were no tips about how do live carb free in a carb focused world.  He left that sort of advice (in my opinion- the ‘what to do about it’) to Atkins, which he recommends.

Recommendation- if you interested in combating common societal dietary opinions, Taubes’ includes many compelling arguments and facts.  Or if you haven’t already read about a carb restricted diet (and you’re thinking of doing this), this is probably a fine book to read.  I recommend Dukan’s book.

One thought on “KayKay #CRB5 Review #55 Why we get fat: and what to do about it by Gary Taubes

  1. Lollygagger December 15, 2013 at 6:55 am Reply

    Glad you read this one – was debating but now I’ll probably just check out the Atkins book. Also, I’ve never heard of Jeni’s ice cream but it must be good!

Leave a Reply

