KayKay #CRB5 Review #42 Tarnished and Torn by Juliet Blackwell

tarnishedtorn

**SPOILER ALERT**

My book reviews are written as a discussion of a book, and not as an advertisement.  Please be aware that there may be information that some would consider spoilers.  Continue on at your own risk!

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve written a review.  Let’s see how this goes.  When it comes to TV, I normally do not like procedurals-  there’s a mystery, they solve it, it’s the least likely person. Each episode just like the last.  There is also a style of books that I consider procedurals, books with the same characters, solving mysteries (and it’s always the least likely person).  There are a few on my list that I like (The Iron Druid series, for example).  This is the (I believe) the fifth in this series, was it good…or did it get old? Here is what I thought….

Plot

I don’t clearly remember this plot line, for two reasons, 1- I finished this book a couple of weeks ago (and have read another book since then) and 2- there was nothing unique about the plot line.  I guess you can look up the summary on Amazon…

Plot Score: 1/5

World Building

These novels take place in San Francisco, and the location is a big part of the book.  In this series, witchcraft is real.

Location Score: 3/5

Characters and Relationships

Lily Ivory- the main character who has some natural and learned witchcraft ability.

Characters Score: 3/5

Life Lessons (fka Bigger Meaning)

None

Bigger Meaning Score:  0/5

Style

Defining Quote: “When it comes right down to it, we each walk the path of this life alone, and make our decisions based on our own distinct beliefs, desires…and fears.”

So one of my biggest pet peeves is when there is a lack of communication between the characters, which is the main cause for the conflict.  In this book I wouldn’t say the lack of communication was the main cause of the conflict, but it was annoying.

Style Score: 1/5

Final Thoughts?

-Definitely in the procedural zone.

Total Score and Recommendation

8/25 – I won’t be reading anymore.

Leave a Reply

