KayKay #CRB5 Review #22 Hands to Make War: The Awakened Book Three by Jason Tesar

HandstoMakeWar

**SPOILER ALERT**

My book reviews are written as a discussion of a book, and not as an advertisement.  Please be aware that there may be information that some would consider spoilers.  Continue on at your own risk!

I finished this book about a week ago and I have already forgotten this book!  I normally have notes and marks on my kindle version of the book to reference when I write the reviews, but I have purchased a new device and it did not transfer my notes.  (or perhaps I didn’t make any…).  Well, this won’t be as in depth as normal, but here’s what I thought…

Plot

As I previously mentioned this book has already started to slip my mind.  An ancient evil power was awoken, and one of his spawn.  Kael was able to defeat them both.

Unfinished Plot Line #1:  (Finished in Book 2)- It was Adair in the water.  We learn at the end of book 2 that Adair is in our world.

Unfinished Plot Line #2- What is happening with Adair- we finally get more than an opener and closer in the modern world.  The whole ‘multiple dimension’ story line, is still unfinished.  I guess this continues on in future books.

Unfinished Plot Line #3: Who is Saba?  (Partly addressed in book 2)  Looks like we have to read his book to get his story….

Unfinished Plot Line #4: What is Kael?  So we know Kael is the ‘Awakened One’ (which we could have assumed since book 1), but still unsure of the extent of ‘what’ he is….

Unfinished Plot Line #5: Where are the angels?  We had evil angels in this book, but it seems as if the story has just started.

Plot Score:  2/5

Location, Location, Location

I still enjoy the juxtaposition of our world vs. the Orudan Empire.  I wish this was explored more, and it seems as if Kael is heading there in the next book.

Location Score: 3/5

Characters and Relationships

Kael- I still prefer Kael as a character.  He is the main reason I come back to this story.  We are discovering his powers along with him, and he’s doing the best

Saba- I kept expecting him to break out some crazy ex-angel moves…but nope, getting nothing from him.

Maeryn- This character drove me crazy!  At one point, they are in the midst of a war and she’s worried about a courtyard that has a fountain by no vegetation!  Come on Maeryn- you’re flirting with the enemy, let’s get it together!

Characters Score: 3/5 (’cause of Maeryn, more Kael, the higher this score would be)

Life Lessons (fka Bigger Meaning)

None….

Bigger Meaning Score: 0/5

Style

Opening Line: “Adair sat on a wide, cushioned bench and raised a steaming cup to his lips.”

For me, the biggest issue is the plot that focused on all the wrong things (too much Maeryn and not enough Adair and Kael and Saba).  The entire book is a teaser to get you to read the next story.  I want to read the next book, but I know if I read it, I’m just going to get another inch in the story.

Style Score: 3/5

Final Thoughts?

I’m not sure if I’ll read the next book.  Sometimes I read a sample of a book and the sample stays with me, even if I’ve moved on to other samples or books.  This book isn’t sticking with me, even after 3 books in…I need a little more ‘meat’ to the story.

Total Score and Recommendation
11/25- If you’ve read the first two, might as well read this one…
Leave a Reply

