KayKay #CBR5 Review #16 The Dragonswarm by Aaron Pogue

DragonSwarm

**SPOILER ALERT**

My book reviews are written as a discussion of a book, and not as an advertisement. Please be aware that there may be information that some would consider spoilers. Continue on at your own risk!

This is book two of the Dragonprince Trilogy.  I enjoyed the plot of the first book, but was put off by the main characters constant fear.  I figured that as the character has gained power, perhaps his annoying habit of always being scared would either be greatly minimized or go away in the second book.  Did the author succeed?  Here’s what I thought…

Plot

Daven is busy in this book.  As the silly king is trying to catch Daven, Daven is getting down to business. Forced to run from Teelevon (home of his beloved Isabelle) to escape the kings pursuit, Daven is kidnapped by dragons!  A HUGE (and evil, of course) dragon Pazyarev, but Vech comes to his rescue.  Daven lives with Vech, as a part of his brood, for some time and starts to assimilate with the dragon ways.  However, thoughts of Isabelle brings him back to civilization.  He knows Pazyarev is going to attack Teelevon, and beyond that all of mankind and he wants to make a stand against the Dragonswarm.  Daven faces Pazyarev- in a amazing fight sequence- conquers him, and then gets the kings support to continue his battle.

Plot Score: 4/5

Location, Location, Location

A land filled with men, magic, dragons and wizards.

Location Score: 3/5

Characters and Relationships
Daven- The hero, in this book, he is much less fearful then in the first story (which is appropriate, as he has gained some confidence).  He reminded me of Anakin/Darth Vadar.  It seems he was always struggling to control the chaos magic of the dragons (the dark side) and to not let it consume him.  (I will say, he always seemed to come back from the dark side)

“The world would not survive without my fire.  Perhaps I had to be the dragon.  Perhaps I had to embrace that dark nature.  But even as a monster I would bend my power to the good of the world, when wizards and kings could not be bothered to do that much”

Isabelle- I really don’t like this character. She encounters a dragon with Daven, he kills the dragon and she injures herself falling. The chick can’t even get out of the way without getting hurt. The story does not pick up until he leaves her and is kidnapped by Pazy.

Characters Score: 3/5

Life Lessons (fka Bigger Meaning)

Without making meaning out of things that have no meaning, I do not think there was any bigger meaning in this book.

Bigger Meaning Score: 0/5

Style

Opening Line:”My feet itched to flee, and my fingers itched for a sword.”

When action sequences are really good, I want to skim read them as fast as possible, because I get so caught up in the action that I need to know the outcome.  I actually read the last action sequence pretty quickly, then went back and read parts of it again (he ends up in the mouth of a dragon!)

I enjoyed this book more than the first one, there was less (constant) mention of Daven being scared, and once the story picked up the book was very hard to put down.

Style Score: 3/5

Final Thoughts?

-Does anyone else feel like Chaos is similar to the dark side in Star Wars?

-What is up with the king and his wizards?  Can’t they see there is a bigger threat then Daven?  Idiots…

-For those who have read the third book in this series- is it worth the read?

Total Score and Recommendation

13/25- I would recommend the first two in the series.  I’m not sure I’m going to read the third book as (based on reviews) seems that the author has gone back to having an annoying narrator.

Leave a Reply

